Town of Lamoine, Maine
The Official Website of Lamoine's Town Government
Town Hall
Fire Department
Newly Added

Lamoine Board of Selectmen

Jo Cooper
Gary McFarland
Bernie Johnson
Nathan Mason
Heather Fowler
Minutes - March 12, 2015

Deputy Town Clerk Stu Marckoon called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Present were:  Selectmen Gary McFarland, Nathan Mason, S. Josephine Cooper, Bernie Johnson; Administrative Assistant Stu Marckoon.  Selectman Heather Fowler had informed the board that she would be unable to attend.

Selection of Board Officers – Bernie nominated Gary to be chair.  Nathan 2nd.  Vote in favor was 3-0 (McFarland Abstained)

Gary nominated Jo to be Vice-Chair.  Nathan 2nd.  Vote in favor was 3-0 (Cooper Abstained)

Agenda Review – No changes to either the printed agenda or addendum were proposed.

Minutes – February 26, 2015 – Jo moved to approve the minutes as written.  Bernie 2nd.  Vote in favor was 4-0.

Expenditure Warrant 18 – Selectmen signed the warrant in the amount of $72,353.93.  Stu noted that of that amount, $53,000 plus was for the school department.

Cash/Budget Report – Nathan asked about where the school budget was tracking in terms of previous years.  Stu said there is no way to compare the last 5 years because this is the first year of the “pay as you go” system, instead of equal payments to the RSU.

Checking Account Reconciliation – Selectmen signed the form expressing satisfaction with the review of the checking account which had been e-mailed prior to the meeting.

Policy Approvals – Nathan moved to approve the annual policies, including the disbursement policy, the Selectmen Rules and Procedures document, and the fee schedule.  Stu reported the only change of any substance was removal of references to RSU 24 in the disbursement policy.   Bernie 2nd.  Vote in favor was 4-0.  Selectmen signed the policies (Selectman Fowler signed the following morning).

Town Meeting Follow Up – Gary remarked that the meeting went smoothly and quickly, and that the only brief discussion was about the transfer of the RSU Withdrawal fund into the education fund.  Stu apologized for an addition error on the rescue boat article and said he would try to figure out what happened.  Bernie praised Gary and Jo for their presentation of the citizen of the year award to Marion McFarland.  Nate said it was a pretty small audience and he would like to see some new faces at town meeting.  Bernie asked if there is anything in regard to the land across the road from the town office.  There was a brief discussion about getting a perk test and consulting with Jay Fowler who may have some knowledge about the land.  Stu reported the neighbor to the south of the town office has a well located on the property and expressed support for having the town purchase the parcel as a protection to his water supply.

Pavement Management Services Contract – Stu reported that because of the low price of oil, he is placing Needles Eye Road which is in the FY 15 paving budget and Buttermilk Road which is in the FY 16 budget approved last night on the same list with hopes to pave after July 1, 2015 at possible significant savings.  Selectmen discussed possibly paving the school parking lot.  Nathan moved to sign the contract with Pavement Management Services LLC and to authorize Stu to contact them about possibly adding the school parking lot to the project list. Gary 2nd.  Vote in favor was 4-0.

Parks Commission Resignation – Jo moved to accept with regret the resignation of Matthew Montgomery from the Parks Commission.  Gary 2nd.  Vote in favor was 4-0.  There was a brief discussion about advertising for folks to serve on the parks commission.

Other Matters – There was a very brief discussion about the response to the discovery request in the MacQuinn v. Planning Board case.

Meeting Schedule – The Board agreed to hold regular meetings on the following dates in 2015:

March 26

April 9

April 30

May 14

May 28

June 11

June 25

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:27 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Stu Marckoon, Adm. Asst. to the Selectmen